Indian Affairs Commission, North Dakota

Type of Board: Agency/Policy Making Pay/Benefits: State Rate
Voting Members: 9 Other Members: 1
Non-Voting Members: 0 Created by: NDCC § 54-36
Length of Terms: Open
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Address: 600 East Boulevard Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-2428
Fax: (701) 328-1537
This Board is the liaison between the executive branch and tribes in North Dakota. Its duties include: mediation service with tribes and state, working with other state agencies regarding proper protocol with tribes. The commission consists of the governor, who serves as chairman, and three members appointed by the governor from the state at large, two of whom must be of Indian descent, must be enrolled members of a tribe and current voting residents of the state. The chairperson or chairperson's designee of the five tribes also serve.

Member Name Position Work County Appt. Date Term Ends
Azure, Jamie Turtle Mt. Band of Chippewa (701) 477-2603 Open
Burgum, Governor Doug Chairman (701) 328-2200 Burleigh 12/15/2016 Open
Cavanaugh, Peggy Spirit Lake Nation (701) 381-2006 Open
Davis, Scott Board Administrator (701) 328-2428 Burleigh Open
Faith, Mike Standing Rock Sioux Tribe (701) 455-2028 Open
Fox, Mark Three Affiliated Tribes (701) 627-4781 Mountrail Open
Laducer, James Governor's Appointee (701) 667-1980 Burleigh 6/15/2001 Open
McDonald, Leander "Russ" Governor's Appointee (701) 255-3285 Burleigh 9/25/2015 Open
White, Donovan Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate (605) 698-8285 Regional Open
Vacancy Vacancy - Governor's Appointee -open