Agricultural Products Utilization Commission

Type of Board: Policy Making Pay/Benefits:
Voting Members: 8 Other Members: 2
Non-Voting Members: 0 Created by: NDCC § 4-14.1
Length of Terms: 2 years, no term limits
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly for two days
Address: 1600 East Century Avenue Suite 2 Bismarck, ND 58503
Phone: 701-328-5350
Fax: 701-328-5320
Contact: John Schneider or Joleen Leier
The agricultural products utilization commission shall administer the agricultural products utilization fund. The commission shall consist of nine members, five of whom must be appointed by the agriculture commissioner for terms of two years each, arranged so that two terms expire in odd-numbered years and three terms expire in even-numbered years. Four members appointed by the agriculture commissioner must be actively engaged in farming in this state and one member appointed by the agriculture commissioner must be actively engaged in business in this state. The governor shall appoint one member for a term of two years which expires in odd-numbered years. The member appointed by the governor must be actively engaged in business in this state. Commission members may be reappointed. Terms of commissioners commence on the first day of July. The commissioner of commerce, the president of North Dakota state university, and the agriculture commissioner, or their designees, are members of the commission. The commission shall elect one of its members as chairman.

Member Name Position Work County Appt. Date Term Ends
Bresciani, Dean Statutory - NDSU President Open
Glessner, Matthew Ag Commissioner Appointee - farming (701) 282-7300 Grand Forks 7/1/2016 6/30/2022
Goehring, Commissioner Doug Statutory - Ag Commissioner (701) 328-2231 Burleigh Open
Kalil, Daniel "Dan" L. Chairman - Ag Commissioner Appointee, farming (701) 774-8067 Williams 7/1/2000 6/30/2022
Kommer, Michelle Statutory - Commerce Commissioner (701) 328-3708 Cass 2/13/2019
Ming, Dennis Governor Appointee, Business Burleigh 7/1/2017 6/30/2021
Ongstad, Bill Ag Commissioner Appointee Wells 7/1/2017 6/30/2021
Peltier, Keith Ag Commissioner Appointee, business (701) 324-4177 Cass 7/20/2012 6/30/2022
Retterath, Rachel Vice Chair - Ag Commissioner Appointee, farming (701) 462-3986 McLean 7/1/2011 6/30/2021
Schneider, John Executive Director (701) 328-5350 Burleigh Open