Judicial Conduct Commission

Type of Board: Policy Making Pay/Benefits: State Rate
Voting Members: 7 Other Members: 0
Non-Voting Members: 0 Created by: NDCC § 27-23-02
Length of Terms: 3 years, 2 term limit
Frequency of Meetings: As needed, at the call of the Chair
Address: 125 Slate Drive, Suite 2 Bismarck, ND 58503
Phone: (701) 328-3925
Fax: (701) 328-3964
Email: kjerickson@nd.gov
Contact: Kara Erickson
The judicial conduct commission consists of two judges of the district court, one lawyer licensed to practice law in this state, and four citizens who are not judges, retired judges, or lawyers. Members representing the district court must be appointed by their state association and the lawyer member must be appointed by the board of governors of the state bar association of North Dakota. The citizen members must be appointed by the governor. The term of each member is three years. A member may not serve more than two full three-year terms. Membership terminates if a member ceases to hold the position that qualified the member for appointment.

Member Name Position Work County Appt. Date Term Ends
Bakke, Randy SBAND Appointee (701) 258-0630 Burleigh 9/16/2016 6/30/2022
Joraanstad, Nathan Governor's Appointee (701) 550-0525 Cass 7/11/2016 6/30/2021
LaBar, Justin Governor's Appointee (701) 628-2422 Mountrail 6/1/2020 6/30/2022
Mattson, Douglas District Court Judge Appointee (701) 587-6635 Ward 7/1/2017 6/30/2023
Nygren, Erik Governor's Appointee Richland 8/5/2020 6/30/2023
Romanick, Honorable Lolita J. Chair - District Court Judge (701) 787-2730 Grand Forks 7/1/2015 6/30/2021
Weisz, Brenda Governor's Appointee (701) 328-4542 12/3/2018 6/30/2021