nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Dalrymple: Burleigh County Added to Presidential Disaster Declaration

BISMARCK, N.D. – Governor Jack Dalrymple today announced that President Barack Obama has approved his request to add Burleigh County to the full disaster declaration that was declared May 10, 2011, in response to statewide flooding. Morton and Ward counties were among the 39 counties included in the original declaration.

Dalrymple requested that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) include Burleigh County as a result of the record flooding occurring along the Missouri River. In addition, the Governor requested that a Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) be conducted in Divide and Billings counties based upon the damages received from flooding along the Little Missouri River. He will continue to press FEMA to include these counties and others that are impacted.

“The inclusion of Burleigh County in the disaster declaration is important as communities along the Missouri River prepare for record water levels,” Dalrymple said. “By approving this request, the federal government is a full partner in our flood fighting efforts and will be a valuable asset for state and local resources as we continue to battle the rising Missouri River.”

The presidential disaster declaration makes available federal funding to help communities cover the costs of building levees and other measures taken to safeguard people and property from flooding.  The disaster declaration makes available federal assistance to help cover the costs of flood mitigation efforts undertaken since Feb. 14, 2011, as requested by the Governor.

The declaration originally included 39 counties, the Spirit Lake Nation, the Three Affiliated Tribes and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa reservations. The counties listed in the original disaster declaration are: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams. Additional designations can be added if requested by the state and warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Dalrymple requested a full presidential declaration for the state under the Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act on Feb. 25, 2011, in anticipation of severe spring flooding.


600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0001
Phone: 701.328.2200 Fax: 701.328.2205