Burgum announces Governor’s Band and Chorus

<< All News Friday, March 23, 2018 - 02:30 pm

BISMARCK, N.D. – Gov. Doug Burgum today announced the Mandan High School Concert Band and the Wahpeton High School Choir as the 2017-2018 Governor’s Official State Band and Chorus.

“Congratulations to the Mandan High School Concert Band and the Wahpeton High School Choir for being selected as this year’s Governor’s Band and Chorus and for proudly representing their schools, communities and state,” Burgum said. “These two impressive and accomplished groups exemplify the outstanding musical talent in our state and highlight the importance of music and the arts within our school systems and communities.”

The Mandan High School Concert Band is directed by Jon Baumann and has 52 students in grades 9-12. In addition to concert band, members perform in a variety of ensembles, including three jazz ensembles, marching band and pep band. They also take part in the North Dakota High School Activities Association Solo and Ensemble events, organize and manage the Big Muddy Band Festival and participate in All-State music ensembles. The band has also performed at the North Central MENC Convention, NDMEA Teacher’s Convention and at band festivals around the country where they have received superior ratings.

The Wahpeton High School Choir, under the direction of Dean Aamodt, has 75 students in grades 9-12. In addition to traditional concerts, the choir serves the community by performing at nursing homes and sporting events and providing community caroling. The choir was featured in the 2016 North Dakota Music Educators Conference and has presented to local Rotary and Kiwanis organizations. Members also have performed at the Heritage Festival in San Francisco and Nashville where they received gold ratings. 

The Governor’s Band and Chorus were selected from applications submitted by school and civic groups from across the state based on musical talent, achievement and community involvement. The band and chorus may be invited to perform at official state functions held throughout the year.

<< All News