









July 23, 2021

President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. The White House Washington D.C. 20500 Prime Minister Justin Trudeau Office of the Prime Minister Langevin Building 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A2

Dear President Biden and Prime Minister Trudeau:

As leaders of states and provinces forming the border between the United States and Canada, we urge both countries to work together to reach an agreement that will allow for the movement of citizens, goods and tourists between our two nations beginning immediately. While some progress has been made, we must end these unnecessary delays and restore normal movement across our shared border.

Canada and the United States have a long and rich history as strong trade partners, unshakable allies and collaborators in advancing democracy across the globe. We share the world's longest international border, 5,525 miles, while maintaining one of the closest bilateral partnerships. According to the Office of the U.S Trade Representative, U.S. goods and services trade with Canada totaled an estimated \$718 billion in 2019.

Our relationship is one built on mutual respect and friendship. As we continue to manage the COVID-19 pandemic and work together on joint initiatives to provide vaccinations to more and more of our citizens every day, the time has come to allow our citizens to move safely and securely across our shared border. For the well-being and future prosperity of both our nations, we must embrace personal responsibility by providing vaccinations to citizens seeking the vaccine, reduce mitigations that cause economic harm and encourage travel for commerce and tourism.

Our two nations, and the states and provinces along our shared border, have a long history of secure, safe and free flow of goods and services across the border, as well as citizens traveling between our countries for business, shopping and tourism. We request our federal governments return to this symbol of friendship once again by securely opening the northern border.

Regards,

Governor Doug Burgum State of North Dakota

Governor Brad Little State of Idaho Governor Greg Gianforte State of Montana

Premier Scott Moe Province of Saskatchewan Premier Jason Kenney Province of Alberta